University of Wisconsin–Madison

Graduate Students

Jason Smoniewski

smoniewski@wisc.edu

Jason is studying flows in HSX and the effects of viscosity and symmetry on the determination of the flows and the radial electric field in a stellarator.


Evan Schilling

eschilling3@wisc.edu


Fernando Castillo

jfcastillo@wisc.edu

Fernando is continuing the work into impurity injection into HSX using the YAG laser blow off equipment. Previous stellarator impurity injection experiments in other devices have seen discrepancies in impurity flows and accumulations as predicted by neoclassical models, and seen in other non-stellarator devices.


Alexander Thornton

alfthornton@gmail.com


Ian Mckinney

imckinney@wisc.edu


Thomas Kruger

tkruger@wisc.edu


Wayne Goodman

wgoodman2@wisc.edu


Dimitri Michaelides

dmichaelides@wisc.edu
dmichaelides@wisc.edu